

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT

PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

13rd July, 2023

PRESS RELEASE



96 MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT SUBSCRIBE THE OATH OF OFFICE AND PARTICIPATE IN THE ELECTIONS OF SPEAKER AND DEPUTY SPEAKER OF PARLIAMENT

Following the First Sitting of Parliament after the conduct of the June 24th polls, the Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Umar Tarawally successfully administered the Oath of Office to 96 Members of Parliament today 13th July 2023, as prescribed in the Third Schedule of the Constitution of Sierra Leone (Act No. 6 of 1991) to constitute the Sixth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone.

During the course of subscribing and signing the Oath of Office for Members of Parliament, the MPs said that they would bear true faith and allegiance to the Republic of Sierra Leone as by law established and that they would also uphold and defend the Constitution of Sierra Leone and that they would faithfully and conscientiously discharge the duties of Members of Parliament.

The 96 Members of Parliament who successfully subscribed the Oath of Office for Members of Parliament include 81 SLPP MPs, 14 PCMPs and 1 APC MP from Karene District in the North Western Region of Sierra Leone.

Following established provisions in the Constitution of Sierra Leone (Act No. 6 of 1991) and the Standing Orders of Sierra Leone Parliament, after failing to secure two thirds on three successive rounds, the Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu was reelected for

the second time in succession, by a resolution of simple majority passed to serve as Speaker of Parliament for the Sixth Parliament assembled.

The Clerk of Parliament administered the Oath of Office for Speaker of Parliament and robbed him as Speaker of Parliament duly elected for the Sixth Parliament and conducted him to his seat.

After the election was conducted for the position of Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu pronounced Hon. Segepoh Solomon Thomas as duly elected as Deputy Speaker of Parliament, for the second time in succession for the Sixth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone.

Both Hon. Abass Chernor Bundu and Hon. Segepoh Solomon Thomas were duly elected and respectively served as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament in the dissolved Fifth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone.

The Speaker of Parliament also announced the following SLPP Members to constitute the Leadership of the Sixth Parliament:

- 1. Hon. Sahr Mathew Nyuma Majority Leader and Leader of Government Business
- 2. Deputy Leader 1 Hon. Bashiru Silikie
- 3. Deputy Leader 2 Hon. Saa Emerson Lamina
- 4. Chief Whip Hon. Dickson Rogers
- 5. Deputy Whip 1 Hon. Veronica Kadie Sesay
- 6. Deputy Whip 2 Hon. Ibrahim Tawa Conteh

The Sixth Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone is now constituted, to pass laws for the peace, security and good governance of Sierra Leone.

However, Parliament awaits 53 Members of Parliament Elect from the APC to subscribe the Oath of Office for Members of Parliament.

Parliamentary and Public Relations Department Parliament of Sierra Leone +23278495023